Dreamboats And Petticoats – The Show Where No Song Is A Solo

Last week I went to see Dreamboats and Petticoats at the Playhouse Theatre. The Playhouse is one of my favourite theatres in London – it’s just gorgeous – so it’s always a pleasure to be in there.

Dreamboats and Petticoats is – I have to say – very similar to Grease. I really enjoyed the show and the music. Obviously, as did the woman sitting next to me who sang along less than beautifully to every single word! The show was the Grease of a few generations ago – proven by the age of the majority of the audience.

I really enjoyed  Lorna Want as Laura. I felt her innocence in the character was adorable and a complete contrast to her beautiful singing voice. I also thought Emma Stephens as Sue was fantastic. I very much liked Ben James-Ellis as Norman as i felt he pulled off the cocky charm of the character well. The cast was very strong overall, with some great dancing throughout and immense vocals. They did a great job with a show that is obviously written to string together as many 50’s hits as they can – but it works like a charm!

Something I have to mention are the beautiful costumes. I’m a great fan of fifties style clothing, and it was out in force in this show! Fluffy petticoats and polkadots, mixed with a simple but effective set made for a visually pleasing show.

The advertised “star” of the show, Tony Christie was quite charming in the roles he played and I was not at all suprised when during the finale he gave the audience a rendition of “Is This The Way To Amarillo?” His part wasn’t huge and I felt he did well with what part he had.

Dreamboats and Petticoats is running at the Playhouse Theatre until November 2011.

3 thoughts on “Dreamboats And Petticoats – The Show Where No Song Is A Solo

Leave Me A Comment

