My Favourite 2010 Theatrical Moments

Happy New Year one and all! We’re now officially into 2011 and a new year of theatrical delights such as Shrek and Ghost the Musical landing in the West End, but I thought now was a good time to look back at my favourite theatrical moments of 2010.

2010 has been a fantastic theatrical year for me. Aside from the creation of this blog I have seen many new shows and I think 2010 truly has been the year of theatre!

Many shows have been viewed by the Wendy team this year, including Legally Blonde, Wicked, Hair, The Remains of The Day, Jersey Boys, Avenue Q in the West End and American Idiot and the Addams Family (all the A’s!) on Broadway. Most of the shows I have seen you can find a review on the blog by flicking back through the months.

My favourite show of 2011 would have to be Hair without a doubt. Purely because, honestly, I thought I would hate it. I really didn’t think I would like it at all. But when I saw it my reaction was quite the opposite – I loved the show and saw it three times in London before it closed (prematurely!). So, for peace, flowers, happiness and a fantastic night at the theatre, Hair was my favourite show of 2010.

Everyone has their theatrical achievements, and mine for 2010 was the first West End Wendy video interview. If you haven’t seen it already it was with the fantastic Jon Boydon, who is appearing in Jersey Boys at the moment. You can find the video HERE so please do have a peek. We had a great time interviewing Jon and look forward to all the new interviews we will be doing in 2011, some of which are already set up. Keep your eyes peeled for news!

I have a few favourite moments of 2010 so I thought I would give you all a little run down.

My most memorable theatrical moment was at Hair. For those of you who haven’t seen the show, the cast spend a great amount of time in amongst the audience. This was during the second half of the show. A girl in front of me decided that she just HAD to take a picture, as she had been doing throughout the show. Despite many taps n the shoulder she just hadn’t listened and felt that she must capture the show for her memories. What she didn’t bank of, however, was that during this particular number (3500) there would be a member of the cast almost right next to her. This cast member was Caissie Levy, who spotted the camera straight out and proceeded to sing the rest of the lyrics (It’s a dirty little war… three five zero zero etc) AT the girl, who understandably looked like she wanted the ground to swallow her up. Needless to say I was in fits of giggles behind her. This is why she should have read West End Wendy’s Ten Theatre Commandments .

Another memorable moment for me was when I visited Legally Blonde and headed to the stage door afterwards. This is where the lovely picture of Me and Sheridan Smith was taken. As much as meeting Sheridan was a memorable experience in itself, my favourite part of this experience was when Sheridan said “Oh My God I Love West End Wendy!”.. I got home to around thirty more followers on Twitter that night! That night was also the first time I was asked for a photograph by a fan! Good times!

Another reason I have enjoyed 2010 is the great chats with my Twitter followers! At present there are over 700 of you guys! Keep following and I promise you more theatre news, reviews and interviews!

Hope 2011 brings everything you all dreamed of. Thanks for reading and don’t forget to comment and tell me your most memorable theatre moments of 2010!

Leave Me A Comment

