REVIEW – Musicality @ The Lost Theatre

Last night I attended Musicality at the Lost theatre, a celebration of musical theatre produced by new company “Showcase Productions” (Dan Boardman and Kathryn Brown). I always enjoy a night of classic musical theatre, especially when backed up by a full orchestra, so I was very much looking forward to the show.

The evening consisted of twenty five songs from musicals such as Wicked, Les Miserables, Rent and High Fidelity sung by a company of six – three guys and three gals. I think with so many great musicals out there to choose from it is always difficult to narrow it down to a “show’s worth” of songs – but Musicality offered a good range of West End past and present.

Highlights for me were frequent, but if I had to pick out one performance as my “performance of the night” it would have to be Abigail Jones’ “Perfect” from High Fidelity. This became one of my all time favourite musical songs when I first heard it on Broadway star Julia Murney’s album so I have high standards when it comes to the song. Abigail did not disappoint. Every note was perfection, every emotion was right there. The song was, in fact, Perfect.

Other highlights were Alto’s Lament (again sung by Abigail Jones), Girl in 14G (sung by Chloe Akam), I’d Give My Life For You (sung by Ima Castro), Send in the Clowns (Abigail Jones) and an epic version of ‘Til I Hear You sing’, sung beautifully by Matt Straw. I definitely think we were spoiled when Love Never Dies was in the West End by having Ramin Karimloo singing this song, but Matt more than held his own in a very difficult number.

All in all a very enjoyable night at the theatre in the company of six very talented singers who I hope to see on the stage again soon. I look forward to the next production by Showcase!

One thought on “REVIEW – Musicality @ The Lost Theatre

  1. Pingback: West End Shows » REVIEW – Musicality @ The Lost Theatre | West End Wendy

Leave Me A Comment

