REVIEW – A Night For Jennifer West End

A Night For Jennifer

I am never happier than when I am given as excuse to get out of the house on Halloween and save myself from the pesky neighbourhood Trick or Treaters, so A Night For Jennifer at the West End’s Lyric Theatre could not have come at a better time! I grabbed my (bargainous!) twenty one pound ticket and sat myself down on the fourth row of the stalls for a night of entertainment from some of the West End’s best. What made this evening even more special, is that it was raising money for charity Jennifer, who raises money to support widowed fathers and their children.

The night was full of many different kinds of entertainment from the West End and beyond, and it is difficult to pick a highlight. The Jennifer Choir, who were formed especially for this event were an easy highlight, and I particularly enjoyed their rendition of ‘Never Forget’ at the end of the show. It was great to see Sabrina Aloueche sing a gorgeous version of ‘On My Own’ from Les Miserables and Sister Mary McArthur made for a joyful second half opener with a delightful “Do-Re-Mi’ from the Sound of Music. Access All Arias did a great job with their first public appearance and the band Woman absolutely rocked the theatre, particularly with their version of Queen’s ‘Somebody To Love’. I also enjoyed James and Graham Edgington (who are the founders of the charity) performing as Father and Son.

There was new writing galore also! I remembered how much I adore Scott Alan’s first album thanks to Chloe Hart singing ‘Never Neverland’ and Kayleigh Stephenson taking on ‘Home’ and it was great to finally hear some of Chris Passey’s music from his debut album “Self Taught… Still Learning” – very much looking forward to this album!

I really did have a great night at this concert and hope there will be many more fundraising efforts for this fantastic charity all around the West End and indeed the country. I look forward to hearing how much was raised at this fantastic event.

You can see my interview with James and Graham Edgington below.

Leave Me A Comment

